Gardens and Partnerships

I got these photos from Jacob Kellert and Kieran Connolly, teachers at the Klahre House. 

I wasn’t sure what I was looking at until Jacob told me,

“In the pictures we were placing a cold frame at the OSU extension office.  The office is allowing us to use the plots at their learning garden to grow veggies.  We have also connected with a couple of Master Gardeners through them.  The kids in our garden class worked with Master Gardeners to build cold frames so that we might experiment with winter gardening. So far the garlic is doing well underground and the lettuce, while not happy, is still alive.”

How cool is that?!

3 Responses

  1. Living in Southwest Oklahoma, a few miles northwest of Walters, I have no wind protection. I live in the middle of what a few years back was a 160 acre wheat field. I think I will try a cold frame on the south side of my house next winter.

  2. This is fabulous. What a good way to learn to grow and extend the season. I always wanted a cold frame in my back yard on Harper Av. in Chicago. You can’t do everything unless you are Janet Hamada and The Next Door.

    • Thank you, Karen, for your kind comment! It’s only because The Next Door has such dedicated and innovative employees that we’re able to do so much. I’ve never done a cold frame myself, but am tempted to do one next year on one of my home garden beds.

Leave a comment